Cooking // Pumpkin Pizza

It’s been awhile since I last shared any ‘cheat/quick’ eat recipes (mostly for those who don’t have a whole lot of time/need to use a lot of basic ingredients in substitute for fancy ingredients featured in hardcore recipes that you might not typically have).
Since I’m not really a pro, I tend to look up recipes for foundational inspiration but I end up swapping a lot of the ingredients that are more accessible or that I’m more comfortable with cooking with. Sometimes it’s also because I don’t want to buy a whole bottle of something that I’ll only use once or twice (and then have heaps leftover).

 Anyways! I’ve been cooking heaps more lately so I thought I’d share my experience with making a pumpkin pizza! I thought of this idea because I recently bought some pumpkin (79 cents per kilo – CRAAZZZYYY) originally I was thinking of making pumpkin soup/pumpkin salad, but then I had a whole heap of spare Australian 4 Leaf Blend and thought why not combine it all and make a simple but delicious tasting pizza?
tt (2)
Ingredients:
1. Australian 4 Leaf Blend Mix (or lettuce, rocket, other green veg)
2. Pita Bread/Pizza Dough (Whatever you feel, or you could make your own dough) Fastest way is to go to your local supermarket and buy a ready made base. (You could even attempt to make a cauliflower base, but I didn’t have enough time)
3. Sauce base (Tomato sauce/ Honey Mustard would be good too) I ended up using tomato sauce because it was the most convenient
4. Pumpkin! :D
5. Onions + Honey (To caramelize the onions + give it extra flavour)
6. Herbs such as thyme/chives (for extra seasoning)
7. Cheese (But it tastes fine without cheese – depends how healthy you want to go)
8. Mushrooms//other veg such as pineapple (Optional)

There you have it! It’s a pretty easy set of ingredients to source – mostly consisting of ingredients most households would carry or be familiar with!

Here is my pumpkin pizza below before it hit the oven! 
tt (1)
Method: (Also very simple)
1. Grab your base (pita bread/dough) and put a thin layer of sauce
2. Cut up your pumpkin and bake for approximately 30 minutes at 180 degrees (drizzle with a little oil/salt if needed)
3. Caramelize your onions (chop them into thin slices, add honey and stir fry them)
4. On your base, lay down the leafy mix, add the onions and cooked pumpkin when it’s ready.
5. Add any additional toppings (mushrooms/cheese)
6. Bake in the oven for approximately 5-10 minutes (to crisp up the base of the pizza/melt the cheese)
7. EAT!! (Basically the last step is only to warm the pizza since everything is ready to eat/and the things that needed to be cooked are already cooked).
DSC02275
You’ll probably find you have left over pumpkin on the ends and there’s no need to waste it! You can roast these since you have the oven on anyway. I had some leftover eggplant I decided to roast as well. I love pumpkin on it’s own!
tt (4)
The final product! :)

The pumpkin was nice and soft after half an hour, however I know some people prefer their pumpkin to be a little more crisp – if you’re one of those people, just leave the original pumpkin in the oven for a longer period of time.

If you try this recipe out let me know how it goes! Happy cooking!

Leave a Reply

